26 Apr 2017
Aquathlon success for ESMS

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge

S5/6 Male
2nd place: Jonathan Jackson

5th place: Forbes Jackson

S3/4 Male
2nd place: Andrew Rolland

5th place: Neil Hepburn

Team Relay (Katie Goodburn, Joe Ewing, Niamh Ritchie and Forbes Jackson)
1st: Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools

The following report is from Triathlon Scotland, please see the link at the bottom of the page.

What a great day at the 2017 Scottish National Schools Aquathlon Championships!

Fifty schools, and over 240 pupils headed to Stirling University [on Friday 21 April] to take part in the event that was run in collaboration with Beaconhurst School and the University of Stirling. The weather was a little more kind this year with no hail on offer, but some gusty winds to contend with none-the-less.

Pupils from S1 to S6 raced in their year groups with S1/S2 swimming 300m and running 2km; S3/4 swimming 400m and running 3km and finally S5/6 swimming 500m and running 4km. As well as the individual event pupils had the chance to take part in the mixed team relay that comprised a 200m swim followed by a 1km run, where teams of four were represented by a female and male pupil in S1/S3 and a female and male pupil in S4/6 – a great turn out also with 12 schools represented and 17 teams taking part – our largest to date.

The S3/4 males’ race was led from start to finish by Calum Young (Williamwood High School) to give him the gold two years in a row, with a time of 14:10. Andrew Rolland (Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools) had some time to make up on the run where he had to chase to get that coveted podium spot. Robert Sparks (Madras College) made it a podium for the second year in a row with his bronze medal winning time of 14:28, just behind Rolland.

Onto the S5/6 races and it was tight at the top in the male event where Josh Hendry (St Columba’s School), Jonathan Jackson (Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools), Forbes Jackson (Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools), Dan Hesp (Beaconhurst School), Andrew Merry (Grove Academy), Rory Strachan (Balfron High School) and Tom Graham Marr (Beaconhurst School) were all within seconds of each other heading onto the run leg. Here is where Hendry showed his strength whizzing up the hills, and with the fastest run split, saw him take the title in 18:38. Jonathan Jackson and Marr put up a good fight on the run to take second (18:57) and third (19:11) respectively.

It wasn’t finished there; it was time for the mixed team relay. An undoubtedly exciting event, the team spirit was once again there in abundance as Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools team was looking to make it two in a row and George Watson’s College were hunting down that title also. An exceptional swim from Monifieth High School’s Sienna Guild saw them fly out into the lead with a huge advantage; however Erskine Stewart’s Melville’s Katie Goodburn and George Watson’s Sally Jack kept their composure, focusing on their race. From there the team of: Katie Goodburn, Joe Ewing, Niamh Ritchie and Forbes Jackson all had an excellent race to see them crowned champions [once again] with their 27:41 performance. George Watson’s College [Sarah Fyfe, David Saunders, Caitlin Arnott and Charlie Kidd] were a comfortable second with their collective time of 28:57. St Columba’s High School [Olivia Barns, Jack Patton, Iona Miller and Josh Hendry] completed the podium with their time of 29:30.

Link: http://www.triathlonscotland.org/2017-scottish-national-schools-aquathlon-championships/